City Council

Friday 17 May 2019

PRESENT:

Councillor Sam Davey, in the Chair.

Councillor Mavin, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Buchan, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Cook, Corvid, Dann, Darcy, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Michael Leaves, Samantha Leaves, Loveridge, Lowry, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Singh, P Smith, R Smith, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Watkin, Wheeler, Wigens and Winter.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Deacon

The meeting started at 10:30am and finished at 11:45am

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <u>www.plymouth.gov.uk</u>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. To nominate and elect the Lord Mayor for the period up to the next Annual Meeting

Council agreed that Councillor Richard Ball is elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing year.

2. To elect the Deputy Lord Mayor for the period up to the next Annual Meeting

Council agreed that Councillor Mrs Terri Beer is elected Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing year.

(i) Appointment of the Lord Mayor's Chaplain

The Lord Mayor announced the appointment of the Reverend Joe Dent as the Lord Mayor's Chaplain to the City Council.

(ii) Presentation of Drake's Sword

Warrant Officer Gordon Hannah RN presented Drake's Sword to the Lord Mayor on behalf of the Royal Navy to symbolise the key links between the Royal Navy and the City of Plymouth.

(iii) Vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor

Council agreed to move a vote of thanks to the retiring Lord Mayor and retiring Deputy Lord Mayor. Council accorded to Councillor Sam Davey the sincere thanks of the Citizens of Plymouth for the invaluable services he rendered to the City as Lord Mayor since May 2018, and for the able manner in which he presided over the deliberations of the Council during that period. The Council also expressed its indebtedness to Councillor Chris Mavin for his diligent and efficient discharge of the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor.

3. To agree the Leader of the City Council

Council agreed that Councillor Tudor Evans OBE remain as Leader of the council.

4. To note the membership of the Cabinet (to follow)

The Council received the report of Councillor Evans OBE which advised that the Cabinet would comprise the following members:

- Councillor Pete Smith Deputy Leader
- Councillor Chris Penberthy Cabinet Member for Housing and Cooperative Development
- Councillor Mark Lowry Cabinet Member for Finance
- Councillor Sally Haydon Cabinet Member for Customer Focus and Community Safety
- Councillor Mark Coker Cabinet Member for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure
- Councillor Sue Dann Cabinet Member for Environment and Street Scene
- Councillor Jon Taylor Cabinet Member for Education, Skills and Transformation
- Councillor Kate Taylor Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social Care
- Councillor Jemima Laing Cabinet Member for Children and Young People

5. To agree committees and their members and appoint Chairs and Vice Chairs

A schedule of the nominations to committees, joint committees, panels etc. was submitted.

Council agreed that approval be given to the above and for their Chairs and Vice Chairs for the transaction of business of the Council until the next Annual General Meeting as set out in the list circulated.

6. **To nominate or appoint representatives to outside bodies**

A schedule of the nominations and appointments to outside bodies was submitted.

Council agreed that approval be given to the appointments and nominations of councillors and others as representatives to outside bodies as indicated.